John Bahcall page: Rennan Barkana

John Bahcall Physics Day

Sunday, April 30, 2006
Tel Aviv University

The Physics community is invited to this one-day conference which will celebrate the life and science of
John Bahcall. Neta Bahcall will represent the family. John was a prominent leader of the international astronomical community, winning the Dan David Prize as well as the U.S. National Medal of Science, for pioneering contributions particularly to solar neutrinos and to the development of the Hubble Space Telescope. John also played a major role in developing astronomy in Israel and in supporting many astronomers early in their careers.

John's picture
Rennan Barkana , Tel Aviv University (Chair), email:
Eli Waxman , Weizmann Institute, email:

Morning Session: Melamed Hall, 10:00-12:00
Lunch: TAU Faculty Club, 12:20-13:45 (free for conference participants)
Afternoon Session: Melamed Hall, 14:00-18:00

The program includes:
Greetings from the president of TAU, Professor Itamar Rabinovich.
Lectures by Neta Bahcall (Princeton), Carlos Pena Garay (IAS, Princeton), Eli Waxman (Weizmann), Tsvi Piran (Hebrew University), Tal Alexander (Weizmann), Dan Maoz (Tel Aviv University), and Yossi Nir (Weizmann).
Short lectures/tributes by Rennan Barkana (TAU), Danny Ashery (TAU), Noah Brosch (TAU), Harry Lipkin (Weizmann), Arnon Dar (Technion), Shmuel Nussinov (TAU), and Micha Hass (Weizmann).
Short videos

Detailed program available here.

Directions and Parking: Information is available here.

We acknowledge the generous support of the following sponsors:
The School of Physics and Astronomy
The Raymond and Beverly Sackler Faculty of Exact Sciences at TAU
The Weizmann Institute of Science